Free to live. Free to give.

Every Saturday the volunteers of Refilwe hold a kids club for the children who live in the township up the road from us. The day starts with the prep work in the kitchen at 8:30 for the nutritious meal we try and provide the kids. At 9 all the other volunteers arrive and we start cooking the food. Between 9:30 and 10 we head up the hill to fetch the kids from Jo Slovo and the Refilwe kids as well which is a little under 100 kids. from 10-10:45 its free play where we interact with the children and share Christs love with them. From 10:45-11 we have worship time and a bible story prepared for them. One of their favorite songs is called making melodies in my heart! I love watching their faces light up and they shout and sing to the Lord. From 11-11:15 we have small group time where we split up into gender and age groups and discuss the bible story. I’m the leader of the little ones and it’s like pulling teeth getting them to talk, it may or may not be because they speak a different language. God is faithful though, and provided me two older girls who speak the language to interpret for me, and this last Saturday went GREAT! At 11:15 we have them line up for lunch and then we take them home when they finish eating. We bring the snack up the hill when we take them home because a lot of the kids don’t like going home. Sometimes they will cling to you with all their might, refusing to be put down and my heart breaks. I want to take them in and bathe them, and feed them and shower them with the love they deserve daily. I am constantly having to remind myself that they belong to the Lord, and I have to sacrifice them to him daily and remember that he goes before me. When I sacrifice my fears and emotions to him, he gives me the freedom to love these kids with no bounds and to make the most of the time he has given me with them. Sometimes I wonder how people ask God to reveal himself to them, because the truth is we see him everyday. I see him in the smiles the children give me when I kiss them on the cheek. I see him in the way people from the community step up and devote their Saturday mornings to these children. I see him in the people who donate funds to help feed 100 kids every Saturday. He is in each of us and when I move past myself and my own problems I see him working all around me. He is always using us where we are, teaching us new things about himself, shaping us into the person he desires us to be, and preparing us for things to come.

“The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup…I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.” (Psalm 16:5-8)

Megan and I with a few of the kids at Kids Club

Megan and I with a few of the kids at Kids Club

One thought on “Free to live. Free to give.

  1. You are such a gifted writer. Your words brought me to tears
    (of course as you well know that isn’t difficult for me). Ok you can stop laughing now:) I am excited to meet these children of God and to see how they interact with you. Your dad and I couldn’t be more proud of how you have taken the love you’ve received your whole life, to bestow it upon others.

Leave a comment